South Padre Island and the Reggae Armadillo

I’ve been hanging out on South Padre Island this week and it got me thinking about songs written about the Texan island. My favorite is “My Kind of Day on Padre” by Gary P. Nunn. You might have heard of Gary P. Nunn. He wrote the classic Texan ballad “London Homesick Blues / Home With the Armadillo,” which he later remade into “Raggae Armadillo.” Nunn captures the essence of the Texas mindset and landscape in his songs. I own the album What I Like About Texas – Greatest Hits and find it to be like comfort food, returning to the album when I need something familiar.

South Padre Island and the Reggae Armadillo

One thought on “South Padre Island and the Reggae Armadillo

Leave a Reply

