The World of Reggae Music Collection: Soul inna Reggae Version

In this edition of the World of Reggae Music Collection the selector explores reggae cover versions of soul songs.  Reggae legends Ken Boothe, Toots & The Maytals, and Delroy Wilson have lots of soul and listeners can really hear that on some of these classic tunes. It makes sense that these Jamaican superstars paid tribute to the icons of soul music. The reggae greats often covered Marvin Gaye, Al Green, Gladys Knight & The Pips, Temptations, Stevie Wonder, Michael Jackson, Bill Withers, and Otis Redding. This collection includes the covers of old school crooners like Motown sensations Smokey Robinson and Four Tops to 80s soul diva Whitney Houston to the neo-soul singer John Legend. Tarrus Riley, Alton Ellis, and John Holt take on these mighty artists, turning soul gold into reggae gold. So “Let’s Get It On” with the best of soul inna reggae stylee!

John Legend & Buju Banton – Can’t Be My Lover

Ken Boothe Let’s Get It On

Tarrus Riley – Human Nature

Toots & The Maytals – (I’ve Got) Dreams To Remember

James Hunter – People Gonna Talk

Courtney John – Have You Seen Her

Pat Kelly – I Wish It Would Rain

Amy Winehouse – Cupid

Jimmy Cliff – I Can See Clearly Now

The Neville Brothers – Rivers of Babylon (KGSR Live Broadcast)

Bruce Ruffin – Are You Ready

Chosen Few – Tears of a Clown

Courtney John – I Want To Next To You

The Deltones – I’ll Take You There

Amy Winehouse – Our Day Will Come

Delroy Wilson – Baby I Need Your Loving

Don Campbell – You Remind Me

Jah Boys – I Can’t Get Next To You

Steel Pulse, Mojo Morgan, & Easy Star All-Stars – The Girl Is Mine

The Soul Messengers – Do It (Till Your Satisfied)

Ali Cambell – Being With You

Elephant Man & Harry Toddler – Dis Scare Dem

Jackie Edwards – In The Mood

Teddy Brown Midnight Train to Georgia

Tarrus Riley – Cum Get Your Ish

Cornell Campbell – Only Sixteen

Amy Winehouse – Just Friends

B.B. SeatonLean on Me

Alton Ellis & Phyllis Dillon – I’m Just A Guy (Soul Style)

Inner CircleRock the Boat

Al Brown Love and Happiness

Pat Rhoden Boogie on Reggae Woman

Junior Murvin – Just My Imagination

Toots & the Maytals – Pain In My Heart

Byron Lee & the DragonairesExpress Yourself

Barry BiggsI’ll Be There

Frankie Paul  – Stuck On You

Chosen FewI Second That Emotion

Horace AndyAin’t No Sunshine

Darker Side of Black – War

I-Tones & RAM – Walk on By

Chosen Few Everybody Plays the Fool

Fiona & Stevie Face – Baby Come To Me

Bruce RuffinOoh Child

Alton Ellis – What Does It Take (To Win Your Love)

Tomorrow’s ChildrenSister Big Stuff

Pat Kelly – (I Love You For) Sentimental Reasons

Luciano & Easy Star All-Stars – Billie Jean

Toots & the Maytals I Heard It Through The Grapevine

Byron Lee & the Dragonaires – Green Onions

Chosen FewDo Your Thing

Delroy WilsonThis Old Heart Of Mine

The Aggrolites – Pop The Trunk

Alton Ellis It’s Your Thing

Derrick Harriott & the Chosen FewSince I Lost My Baby

Mike Dorante – You Keep Me Hangin’ On

Zap Pow If You Don’t Know Me By Now

John HoltKilling Me Softly with Her Song

Junior Byles Fever

Carl Dawkins & the WailersCloud Nine

The Wailing Souls –Whiter Shade of Pale

Chosen Few Theme from Shaft

NoiseshaperKung Fu Fighting Feat. Carl Douglas (Noiseshaper Remix

Lloyd CharmersJust My Imagination

UB40The Way You Do The Things You Do

Ziggy Marley & the Melody MakersPeople Get Ready (LP Version)

Toots & the MaytalsHard To Handle

Alborosie – Soul Train

The PioneersPapa Was a Rolling Stone

Lukie D & M’Lonie – No Air

Jimmy RileySexual Healing

Alton Ellis – La La (Means I Love You)

Chalice – Master Blaster (Jammin’)

Don Campbell – Tired of Being Alone

The Neville Brothers – Sitting In Limbo

George Nooks – If You Don’t Know Me By Now

Pat Kelly – In The Midnight Hour

The Aggrolites – Funky Fire

Slim Smith & The Uniques – Build My World Around You

Cas Haley & Easy Star All-Stars – Human Nature

Chaka Demus & Pliers One Nation Under A Groove

Alaine – You Are Me

Michael Rose & Easy Star All-Stars – Beat It

Charlie Chaplain – Killer

Don Carlos – Too Late To Turn Back

L.U.S.T. Just As I Am

Lionel Richie – Stand Down

Marvin Gaye – Third World Girl (Raggae)

Pam Hall – Why We Sing

Jimmy Cliff – Outsider

The Aggrolites – Jimmy Jack

Frankie Paul – The Girl Is Mine

Slim Smith & The Uniques – Gypsy Woman

Roland Alphonso – (Straighten Up And) Fly Right

The Shades – Never Gonna Give You Up

Sean Paul & Spanner Banner – Ladies Night

Spragga Benz, Mikey General, & Easy Star All-Stars – Thriller

Toots & The Maytals – Missing You

Smokey Robinson & Ali Campbell – Hallelujah Time

Leroy & Junior – Break Up To Make Up

Frankie Paul – Sarah

NEED

Jackie EdwardsI Want A Love I Can See

The Heptones My World Is Empty Without You

Slim SmithA Place In The Sun

Derrick Harriott The Girl’s Alright With Me

The TechniquesSince I Lost You

Pat Kelly The Tracks Of My Tears

Slim SmithMy Girl

Jimmy RileyIt’s Growing

Ken Parker My Girl Has Gone (When You Were Mine)

Bob Andy Since I Lost My Baby

Busty Brown Don’t Look Back

Delroy Wilson I Can’t Help Myself

The Heptones Born To Love You

The HeptonesBorn To Dub You

Delroy WilsonEverybody Needs Love

Pat KellyGonna Give Her All The Love I’ve Got

The Uniques – The Love I Saw In You (Just A Mirage)

Slim SmithFor Once In My Life

Ken Boothe & B.B. Seaton(It’s The Way) Nature Planned It, Parts 1 & 2

Inner Circle Your Kiss Is Sweet

Lloyd Charmers Let’s Get It On

Byron Lee & the Dragonaires Way Back Home

Hopeton LewisGod Bless Whoever Sent You

Norman BrownJust My Imagination (Running Away With Me)

Alton Ellis It’s A Shame

A Darker Shade of BlackBall Of Confusion

Bob & Marcia The Onion Song

John HoltYester-Me, Yester-You, Yesterday

Byron Lee & the Dragonaires Message From A Black Man

Desi Young Don’t Know Why (I Love You)

Roman Stewart & the Tennors The Whole World Is A Stage

The Techniques You’re My Everything

Roland AlphonsoA Whiter Shade Of Pale

Slim SmithAin’t Too Proud To Beg

The Harry J All StarsMy Cherie Amour

Lloyd Charmers & the Soul Leaders Come See About Me

Denzel Dennis Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow

Robin Thicke & the Bombist – Lost Without You

The Soul LeadersMother’s Advice (Shop Around)

Derrick Harriott Reach Out (I’ll Be There)

Roger RobinApologise

Carl BradneySlipping Into Darkness

Marvin Gaye – Sexual Healing (Jay Dusty Smith Remix)

Jackson 5 – I Want you Back (Natty Dread Riddim)

Murvin Gaye – Hear Me Through the Grapevine

John Legend – Ordinary People (Stranger Riddim)

Al Fingers – What’s Going On? (Truth and Rights Remix)

Smokey Robinson – Going to a Go Go (Slimmy Taylor Remix)

Al BrownAin’t No Love In The Heart Of The City

Jimmy London I’m Your Puppet

Denzel DennisHaving a Party

Pam Hall I Will Always Love You

Dennis BrownNever Can Say Goodbye

The Upsetters – Na Na Hey Hey (Kiss Him Goodbye)

The Untouchables – Tighten Up

Slim Smith & the Uniques – That’s the Way Love Is

Yami Bolo – Isn’t She Lovely

Duane Stephenson – You Are Not Alone

Delroy Wilson – It’s The Same Old Song

Delroy Wilson – Ain’t That Peculiar

Derrick Harriott – You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me

John Holt – Wherever I Lay My Hat

Bob Andy & Marcia Griffiths – Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing

John Holt – The Further You Look, The Less You See

The World of Reggae Music Collection: Soul inna Reggae Version

One thought on “The World of Reggae Music Collection: Soul inna Reggae Version

Leave a Reply

